Cut Me Open Doc.

After having my meniscus surgery go wrong not once but twice last year, I thought it was time to see a new doctor. Last year I ended up getting my meniscus worked on at the end of the winter season. After a full summer of physical therapy I thought I would be ready to ride, but something still didn’t feel right. I ended up getting a MRI before the season this year, and the doctor told me that the anchors they put it in were not reacting well with my body and they had to be taken out. After a second surgery in November of 2012, I thought my knee problems would be over…but oh no! The MRI revealed that the meniscus was never healed and the doctor was a piece of you know what for telling me it was all good to go. So I ended up sucking it up and riding all season on a torn meniscus, which was fairly painful, but very worth it in the end. Now it’s May of 2013 and its time to get surgery once again. I am seeing a new doctor who is known for rehabbing pros like john jackson, and Nick Pooch, so I feel much more comfortable this time as i go under the knife.

May 14 D Day:

I went in on tuesday May 14, and ended up getting the surgery done. This time I opted for a spinal block, this way i would be awake during the whole procedure, and watch everything go down. I must say it was fairly strange watching doctors hack at your knee, while you just lie there. The patient can’t feel anything below the waist due to the spinal block, and it was almost comical watching the procedure be done. Now I am in the recovery stage and will start therapy next week. Let the long road to recovery begin!

I am very pleased with this doctor and believe that with a solid knee under my body next year i will be stronger than ever, and am going to come out swinging! I’m hungry for next season and want to prove to everyone that I am the best and can recover better than the best.

Before surgery bed

Before surgery bed

Night gown

Night gown

Fuck surgery

Fuck surgery

One last happy face

One last happy face

sunset before surgery

sunset before surgery

after surgery

after surgery

Leave a Reply

