The Trip Begins…

Bags on Bags on Bags

Waiting at SFO airport

As we enter into the Month of May my schedule has finally calmed down, but once again I find myself reminiscing about the past. Lets go back in time, about four months ago. I was in California getting ready for a seven-week trip to Europe for the Freeride World Qualifying tour.

Crazy old Swiss style houses are so cool.

Crazy old Swiss style houses are so cool.

As our plane lifted off the cold dark San Francisco tarmac, I was feeling a little drained. I slouched back into my seat and thought about the up and coming Freeride World Qualifier in Verbier, Switzerland. As we reached cruising altitude I was immediately served a nice cold Swiss beer by a more than average looking stewardess. Okay, she was hot, but being only 20 years-old and not even asked about an ID was pretty awesome. My spirits were slowly lifted as I eagerly slammed back three beers and embraced the start of the trip.

Almost twelve hours later our plane crossed over the west coast of Europe and touched down on the cold, icy landing strip of the Zurich airport in Switzerland. I stumbled into the baggage claim and grabbed my luggage as I waited for the arrival of our family friend. I was pretty beat from the rigid 12-hour plane ride, but the night was far from over.

Even though my dad and I were drained, our family friend insisted that we get a little drunk on some good ol’ peach schnapps

Feeling better now that we got to sit down, and drink some water.

Feeling better now that we got to sit down, and drink some water.

and concentrated beer. After waking up to a not so pleasant hangover, we started our journey by lugging our heavy-ass snowboard bags through several different train stations. After spending about five hours traveling on multiple trains we were faced with a harsh reality. Freakin’ Switzerland wasn’t cheap at all!

You just want to go ride everywhere you look!

You just want to go ride everywhere you look!

If you thought San Francisco was expensive, well then you obviously haven’t been to Switzerland! I mean a small cup of coffee, which is more like a shot of espresso, cost nearly $6.00 dollars! WTF! This small miscalculation of inflation ultimately led us to start a strict diet of salami, cheese, and bread for othe remainder of our time in Switzerland. Which let me tell ya’, is not too pleasant on the bowels.

As our final train approached the end of the tracks we stepped out of the cabin and immediately had our minds blown. We dragged our 50-pound bags off those last damn steps of the train, and stood memorized at the bottom of the looming mountain range that towered over the village f Le Chable, Switzerland.  It was go time!

I guess I didn't mind waking up to this every morning!

I guess I didn’t mind waking up to this every morning!

To be continued…

Leave a comment